Mey Mile Prize Winners

Congratulations to everyone who participated in the Mey Mile, over 150 of you braved the horrible weather!

Prize winners were:

Joint 1st primary girl – Shannon May and Olivia Mackay

1st primary boy – Joshua Hughes

1st secondary girl  – Rachel May

1st secondary boy – Connor Miller, North Highland Harriers

Primary prize winners with Ian Gunn representing sponsor Gunn.

Secondary prize winners with Ian Gunn representing sponsor Gunn.

Photos courtesy of Eilidh Geddes


Statkraft Trail Series 2018/19 – Final Points

The Statkraft trail series for 2018/19 is now completed and you will find the points here.

Female trail winner was Rebecca Sinclair, 2nd was Vicki Teven and 3rd was Sarah Armitage. Male trail winner was David Spencer, 2nd was David Stockan and 3rd was Malcolm Lord.

Female improvement at trails winner was Vicki Teven, 2nd was Sarah Armitage and 3rd was Rebecca Sinclair. Male improvement at trails winner was Graeme Bremner, 2nd was Malcolm Lord and 3rd was David Spencer.

Congratulations to all the winners and a massive THANK YOU to everyone who was involved in putting on the trail series.

Easter 10k Results

Sixty-nine people participated on a sunny Easter Sunday in the Easter 10k held by Wick Triathlon Club in conjunction with North Highland Harriers. Andrew Douglas came in first in 31.39, setting  a new course record. Second was Hugh Simpson in 39.15 and third was David Stockan in 39.24. First lady was Emma Dunnett in 41.45, second was Jayne Klimas in 43.43 and third was Debs Larnach in 48.35. Full results can be found here.

Congratulations to all those who participated.

Beinn Ratha Hill Race Results

Well done to the 25 runners who completed the Beinn Ratha race on Saturday on a bright, but very windy day. You can find the results here. The race was sponsored by John O’Groats Brewery with all runners and volunteers going home with one of their excellent beers and the first female and male and master female and male winning a gift pack.

First male was Alistair Macdonald from University of St Andrews and first female was Shoana Blackwood.

Many thanks to Leslie Mackay to Beinn Ratha organiser and all the volunteers.

January Trail Results

January brought the arrival of winter but that didn’t deter the dedicated NHH trail runners, first up was Beach and Bark on 13 January and then the Reay Classic on 27 January. You can find the results for the Beach and Bark here and the Reay Classic here.

Many thanks to the trail organisers Alistair Geddes and Dave Spencer, and everyone else who helped out.

Beginners Running Sessions – New Groups

NHH will have new beginner running sessions starting on Monday 14 January, 6.00pm at both Thurso Squash Club and Wick Youth Club.

Nobody is too slow to join our running sessions and the groups will follow the jogscotland programme, starting with 30 second run, 30 seconds walk. 

Make 2019 the year that you start running and NHH can help you with supportive, welcoming groups. All groups are led by jogscotland leaders.

Statkraft Trail Series – Beach & Bark

This Sunday (13 January) is the Beach and Bark trail run. 

Registration from 9:15 to 9:45 at Castletown Heritage Centre.

Please be on time to allow for pre race brief.
Staggered start from 10:00.
Long course 7 miles
Short course 5.1 miles

As always car share is encouraged and baking would be most welcome.